Kismet

There was something tragic about her eyes.

This is one of my favorite words of all time. Destiny is an interesting concept… 

This might not make much sense unless you’ve read my very first word Reminiscence.

This was getting way too long, so I had to cut it a little short.

I hope you enjoy! Thank you!

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

The Little Scars Heartbreak Leaves

Kismet (n): destiny or fate.

“Would you call it love?”

Emilia hesitated.

“I don’t know. We were both so young… but we felt so sure.”

The breeze brushed over the hill, sending the soft perfume of flowers towards them.

“I was prepared to spend my life with him. If I knew about his condition, I wouldn’t have let go. Maybe that’s why he ripped away first.”

“But he still left you. How can you be so calm about it?”

“Of course some part of me will always be… you know,” she said making erratic gestures with her hands. “But, I feel like I can understand why he did it. It doesn’t make it okay, but it does… it does… change things.”

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

Noah was late.

It was especially irritating because it was a rare occurrence.

It wasn’t that he particularly cared about being on time to this kind of thing, but it was a matter of principle.

The reason for his tardiness was the eggshell white volkswagen buried into the side of his lexus.

He could feel the burn of his seatbelt across his chest. His coffee had splashed across his clothes. It smelled like something was burning. The crunch of broken glass still echoed in his ears. The airbags on the passenger side had gone off.

Stumbling out of his vehicle, he angrily approached the other car.

The other driver also stepped out of their vehicle. It was dark haired lady with pale eyes.

“Are you okay?” she asked.

“I’ve been better,” he scoffed, suppressing the urge to yell.

“Let me rephrase that. Are you injured at all?”

“My head’s ringing a little.”

“I’m calling 911. We should trade insurance information. I’m Emilia.”

“Noah.”

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

“C’mon, man. You bailed on me last time. I know you’re going to like her.”

“I didn’t ‘bail.’ I was in a car accident. Now, this is your art college friend’s sister, right? Emma or something, yes?”

“Nice memory.”

“Your compliment doesn’t change the fact that I’m not going. Besides, I got into a car accident last time I was supposed to meet her. I think that’s a sign.”

“Oh, so you’re superstitious now? Besides, she couldn’t come last time either, so it turned out alright. I think that was pretty coincidental,” Laurens said.

Noah rolled his eyes and started to walk away.

“When’s the last time you went ice skating? It’ll be fun. Admissions are half off for couples.”

“You’re just asking me because you want to date your art friend, and you think this whole ‘let’s pretend we’re a couple so we get skates half off’ thing is going to work.”

“Think? I know so. Have you heard of Cognitive Dissonance Theory?”

Noah sighed, shaking his head.

“When people’s behavior don’t match their beliefs, their beliefs tend to catch up. We go for this date night. Together. She starts acting like my girlfriend and then… boom. She’ll want to be my girlfriend.”

“I really don’t think it works like that.”

“C’mon. Help me out.”

“Are you really serious about this, Laurens.”

His voice turned soft. “Yeah…”

“Wow,” Noah scoffed, not unkindly. “I guess even playboys can fall in love.”

“I-I’m not in love… yet…”

There was an awkward kind of pause.

“I’ll ask Viktor to clear my schedule Friday night,” Noah sighed, resigning himself to an evening of torture. 

“Yes! You won’t regret this. I promise.”

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

The place was packed. Noah regretted coming for the nth time.

Couples were scattered across the ice, being disgustingly romantic. The lights cast a dim pink glow across the whole place, casting long shadows on the rose-colored ice.

“There she is!” Laurens called excitedly.

Noah rolled his eyes. Laurens was like a puppy.

“May! This is my friend, Noah Summerlin.”

The girl had wispy platinum blonde hair cut in a long pixie cut bob kind of style. Somewhere in between the two. Her large hoop earrings jangled as she turned to face them. Her eyes were rather dramatically done, though she was wearing a plain cream sweater.  

Laurens was practically making heart eyes at the girl. It was ridiculous.

“Hi, Noah. Let me call Em over,” May said casually, with a smile.

Noah noticed she kept glancing at Laurens, though she was technically talking to him.

Laurens should cherish this. It was rare he found anyone who was as into him as he was them.

May soon returned, dragging along another girl.

Her hair, in contrast to her sister, was a caramel mocha. She had it in some sort of half-up half-down style. She was wearing an olive green tunic over skinny dark jeans. Her lips were painted crimson.

Their eyes met,

“Oh, it’s you,” they said at the same time.

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

“You already know her? How insane is that?”

“We were in a car accident. That’s hardly anything romantic.”

“But still. It was the day you were supposed to meet,” Laurens said, wiggling his eyebrows.

“Why am I friends with you?”

“Because without me, you’d have no social life.”

Noah rolled his eyes.

“Anyways, I want you to come next Saturday. We’re going hiking this time.”

“No, Laurens. It was so awkward. You and eccentric art college student were making heart eyes at each other while Emma and I just skated around trying to pretend we didn’t know each other.”

“Oh, so you’re on first name basis with her?”

“Do you even think before you speak?”

“No, but seriously. Didn’t she tell you about her niece or something? I heard the tail end of that conversation.”

“That was just polite small-talk. I am not going hiking and that’s final.”

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

Saturday rolls along. Noah goes hiking.

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

There was something tragic about her eyes. It was like the moment dawn broke and you’re so glad to see the sun again, but you can’t help but mourn the loss of the stars.

“So what do you do?”

“I’m a businessman,” he explained simply.

They had found some sort of equilibrium. It was a tentative balance. The kind that could crumble with a single breath.

“And you?”

She smiled. “I teach.”

“What subject?”

“Music— the piano actually.”

“Oh. That’s nice. So you play?”

Emma laughed, warm and easy. Like rain dancing across sun-drenched cobblestones.

“Yes, yes I do.”

“What’s so funny?”

“No… it’s just that considering the majority of my waking time on earth is spent on a piano bench, it’s odd to meet someone who doesn’t really know me for it.”

“Oh…”

“It’s not a bad thing,” she reassured. “It’s just different. I like different…”

“I like different too,” he told her.

Her smile reflected his in a silent cloud of shared warmth.

It was the kind of smile he could chase for a lifetime. And it was right in front of him.

And it was enough.

It had always been enough for him.  

❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇❈❇

They rested on the hill. Noah leaned back, lifting his hand in the air. His ring glinted in the setting sun. He closed his eyes.

“What are you thinking about?” she asked, carding her hand through his hair soothingly.

“The day we met.”

Emilia laughed.

“I can tell you, that was the most unexpected meeting I ever had. When I saw you, I never thought you’d be my husband one day.”

“Same.”

“I don’t think I would have done anything different,” she told him softly. “It was hard, but I’m glad I ended up here.”

Noah was torn between opening his eyes or keeping them shut.

“I’m sorry I made you wait. The truth is, Noah, I’ve loved you for a long time. I just wasn’t able to say it till now.”

Noah’s eyes flew open. In shock, he realized his eyes were moist.

Her smile had always been enough.

He didn’t expect her to ever give him her heart. And for so long, he had convinced himself that he was okay with that.

But now…

“I’m already yours, Emma. You know I always have been.”

“I don’t deserve you.”

“We don’t deserve each other. But we found each other anyway. That’s all that matters.”

“I love you,” Emma repeated, crying.

“I love you too.”

Leave a Reply

