Meander

14. She peels her oranges into little flowers.

This week’s word is meander. I chose it because the format of the vignette is a list, and August’s thoughts are sort of all over the place.

Thank you. I hope you enjoy!

❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉

Evolution of a Friendship

Meander (v): To wander.

  1. She transferred schools midway through the year.
  2. Her name is Zoey St. Claire.
  3. She doesn’t “do” friends.
  4. She’s grumpy.
  5. She rides her bike to school.
  6. She buys lunch.
  7. She gets good grades. Especially in science.
  8. We’re lab partners.
  9. Even though she yells at me when I make mistakes, she always helps me fix them.
  10. She scrapes the frosting off her oreos first.
  11. She doesn’t like being wrong.
  12. Or losing.
  13. We make a good team.
  14. She peels her oranges into little flowers.
  15. Her favorite flavor of ice cream is cookie dough.
  16. She hates loud noises.
  17. And big crowds.
  18. She thinks that I’m smart.
  19. Or at least, that I have “more brain cells than most of the imbeciles here.”
  20. She cries every time she reads “Flowers for Algernon”
  21. And “Rip Van Winkle.”
  22. She’s scared of cars.
  23. But she likes motorcycles.
  24. She doesn’t think ballet’s a girly sport.
  25. We have the same favorite books.
  26. She broke both her arms once when she was biking down Bryer’s Hill.
  27. She’s not afraid to tell people off for being bullies.
  28. She laughs at my jokes.
  29. She lives with her aunt and uncle.
  30. Both of her parents are in a coma after a car accident.
  31. She has nightmares about it sometimes.
  32. She hates being told what to do.
  33. Her birthday’s in February.
  34. I’m older than her by three weeks.
  35. Since she didn’t know about my birthday, she said we could share hers.
  36. We went ice skating.
  37. She takes her pizza with pineapples and black olives.
  38. She smiles a lot more often nowadays.
  39. Whenever it rains, she makes paper boats to send down the street-side conduits.
  40. She reminds me of a cat sometimes.
  41. We don’t have any awkward silences.
  42. She can understand me even if I don’t say anything.
  43. She is skilled at pencil sword-fighting.
  44. She sometimes thinks out loud.
  45. I taught her how to make paper cranes.
  46. It makes her mad that she can’t fold them right.
  47. She skipped school the day my dog died to bring me ice cream.
  48. She didn’t tell me to stop crying.
  49. I told her that she was my best friend.
  50. She told me that I was hers, too.

Leave a Reply

